Cancellara decimates field in Tour de France prologue

Fabian Cancellara | Image: Team Radio Shack website

Liege, Belgium – Time trial stalwart Fabian Cancellara destroyed the world’s best riders completing the short 6.4 km prologue an amazing seven seconds faster than overall favorite Bradley Wiggins.

Last years Tour de France winner Cadel Evans finished in a disappointing 13th place overall, 10 seconds behind Wiggins and 17 seconds behind Cancellara.

World Time Trial Champion Tony Martin had a disappointing finish due to a bike change, however, he appeared to be in top form and will certainly be a factor in the other time trial stages.

Young American rider Tejay van Garderen finished in a suprising 4th place overall and will wear the white jersey as the Best Young Rider.

Sylvain Chavanel set the early time to beat and held on to finish in third place and round out the podium with Cancellara and Wiggins.

1  Fabian Cancellara (Swi) RadioShack-Nissan  0:07:13
2  Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky Procycling  0:00:07
3  Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Omega Pharma-Quickstep
4  Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team  0:00:10
5  Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling  0:00:11
6  Brett Lancaster (Aus) Orica GreenEdge Cycling Team
7  Patrick Gretsch (Ger) Argos – Shimano  0:00:12
8  Denis Menchov (Rus) Katusha Team  0:00:13
9  Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team
10  Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana Pro Team  0:00:15

This entry was posted in cycling, Fabian Cancellara, Tour de France, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s